Main Collections

  1. Money Museum
  2. Collection
  3. Main Collections
Bank of Korea Coins Issued in the 1960’s
Enlarged view

[Bank of Korea Coins Issued in the 1960’s ]

Bank of Korea Coins Issued in the 1960’s
Currency Gallery

Explanation of Work

The currency unit was changed from hwan to won under the currency reform carried out in 1962, and the circulation of hwan-denominated currency was prohibited. However, 50-hwan and 10-hwan coins remained in circulation for small value transactions. To replace these coins, Bank of Korea issued three won-denominated coins (10-won, 5-won, and 1-won coins) for the first time in 1966. The 1-won and 5-won coins took the same design theme of Mugunghwa and Geobukson, used in 10-hwan and 50-hwan coins, respectively. For the 10-won coin, the stone pagoda, Dabotap, was newly adopted as a design theme. As the copper price surged, the material of the 1-won coin was changed into aluminum in 1968.